Overview

Now extended through june 10!

In 1949, Detroit’s Blackbottom neighborhood is gentrifying. Blue, a troubled trumpeter and the owner of Paradise Club, is torn between remaining in Blackbottom with his loyal lover Pumpkin and leaving behind a traumatic past. But when the arrival of a mysterious woman stirs up tensions, the fate of Paradise Club hangs in the balance. Paradise Blue is the first production of Obie Award-winning playwright Dominique Morisseau’s Signature Residency. Directed by Tony Award-winner Ruben Santiago-Hudson (The Piano Lesson, Jitney), it is a thrilling and timely look at the changes a community endures to find its resilience.

Waitlist Tickets

On the day of a sold out performance, we will take a waiting list for full price tickets in person at the ground floor Box Office window one hour prior to showtime. Learn more.



Student Rush Tickets

Subject to availability, Student Rush tickets will be sold for $30 when the ground floor Box Office opens each day up until performance time. Limit two tickets per person. Tickets are only available in person with a valid student ID. Learn more.
Dates
April 24 - June 10, 2018
Price
Through June 3: all tickets $30. Beginning June 5: tickets $30-55.
Running Time
2 hours 10 minutes, with one intermission
Residency

Please Note

This production contains gunshots as well as the use of haze and herbal cigarettes.

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Sponsored by American Express
 
Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

May 3, 8, 24, 31
Chat with members of the cast & creative team after the show.

Page-to-Stage_Icon_Signature-01.png  Page to Stage (Pre-Show)

May 9
Hear the full story of how the play developed through a moderated discussion with members of the Artistic Team.

Worldoftheplay_Icon_Signature-01.png  World of the play

May 19 at 4:30pm

BackstagePass_Icon_Signature-01.png  Backstage Pass (Post-Show)

May 22
Get an inside look at the mechanics behind the magic in this post-show discussion with a designer from the show.

MORE Events

Audio Description Icon   Audio Described Performance

May 19 at 2:00pm 
Learn More

Open Caption Icon  Open Caption performance

May 27 at 2:00pm
Learn More

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Got a Promo Code?

Available
Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Apr 26, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Fri, Apr 27
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Friday, Apr 27, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Sat, Apr 28
2:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Saturday, Apr 28, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable
Sun, Apr 29
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Sunday, Apr 29, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Tue, May 01
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, May 01, 2018
7:30 PM
Wed, May 02
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, May 02, 2018
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, May 03
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, May 03, 2018
7:30 PM
Fri, May 04
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Friday, May 04, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Sat, May 05
2:00 PM Sold Out 8:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Saturday, May 05, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable
Tue, May 08
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, May 08, 2018
7:30 PM
Wed, May 09
2:00 PM Sold Out 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, May 09, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM
Thu, May 10
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Thursday, May 10, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Fri, May 11
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Friday, May 11, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Sat, May 12
2:00 PM Sold Out 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, May 12, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM
Sun, May 13
2:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Sunday, May 13, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable
Wed, May 16
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Wednesday, May 16, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Thu, May 17
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Thursday, May 17, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Fri, May 18
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, May 18, 2018
7:30 PM
Sat, May 19
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, May 19, 2018
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, May 20
2:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Sunday, May 20, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable
Tue, May 22
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, May 22, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Wed, May 23
2:00 PM Sold Out 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, May 23, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM
Thu, May 24
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, May 24, 2018
7:30 PM
Fri, May 25
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, May 25, 2018
7:30 PM
Sat, May 26
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, May 26, 2018
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, May 27
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, May 27, 2018
2:00 PM
Tue, May 29
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, May 29, 2018
7:30 PM
Wed, May 30
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, May 30, 2018
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, May 31
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, May 31, 2018
7:30 PM
Fri, Jun 01
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Jun 01, 2018
7:30 PM
Sat, Jun 02
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Jun 02, 2018
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Jun 03
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Jun 03, 2018
2:00 PM
Tue, Jun 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2018
7:30 PM
Wed, Jun 06
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2018
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Jun 07
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Jun 07, 2018
7:30 PM
Fri, Jun 08
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Jun 08, 2018
7:30 PM
Sat, Jun 09
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Jun 09, 2018
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Jun 10
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Jun 10, 2018
2:00 PM

Cast

Francois Battiste

Kristolyn Lloyd

Simone Missick

J. Alphonse Nicholson

Keith Randolph Smith

Creative

Scenic Designer
Neil Patel
Costume Designer
Clint Ramos
Lighting Designer
Rui Rita
Sound Designer
Darron L West
Original Music
Kenny Rampton
Music Director
Bill Sims, Jr.
Hair & Wig Design
Charles G. LaPointe
Fight Director
Thomas Schall
Production Stage Manager
Laura Wilson

Now At The Center