Overview

$30 Tickets on sale now!

In Fucking A, Hester Smith, the revered and reviled local abortionist, hatches a plan to buy her jailed son’s freedom—and nothing will deter Hester from her quest. In this wild-eyed blend of story and song, directed by Obie Award-winner Jo Bonney (Father Comes Home From the Wars), Hester’s branded letter A becomes a provocative emblem of vengeance, violence, and sacrifice. 

This play is being produced in tandem with Suzan-Lori Parks' In the Blood, directed by Sarah Benson, as part of the event we are calling The Red Letter Plays, a unique opportunity to see two plays by one writer in dialogue with each other. To find out more about why we are presenting these two riffs on Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter together, click here.

Dates
August 22 - October 1, 2017
Price
All tickets $30
Running Time
2 hours 15 minutes, with one intermission
Residency

Please note

This production contains the use of haze and herbal cigarettes.
 

frequently asked questions

Click here to learn more about The Red Letter Plays.

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Sponsored by American Express
 
Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

August 31; September 14, 19, 26
Chat after the show with the cast and creative team about their process creating the production.

BackstagePass_Icon_Signature-01.png  Backstage Pass (Pre-Show)

September 6 
Get an inside look at the mechanics behind the magic in this pre-show discussion with The Red Letter Plays costume designers Rachel Hauck and Lousia Thompson.

Page-to-Stage_Icon_Signature-01.png  Page to Stage (Pre-Show)

September 20 
Hear the full story on how playwright Suzan-Lori Parks and director Jo Bonney transformed an idea into a play through a moderated discussion with members of the Artistic Team.  

MORE Events

Champagne_Signature_Icon-01.png   Audio Described Performance

September 16 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Got a Promo Code?

Available
Sold Out
Wed, Aug 23
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2017
7:30 PM
Thu, Aug 24
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Aug 24, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Aug 25
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Aug 25, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Aug 26
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Aug 26, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Aug 27
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Aug 27, 2017
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Aug 29
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2017
7:30 PM
Wed, Aug 30
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2017
7:30 PM
Thu, Aug 31
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Thursday, Aug 31, 2017
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Fri, Sep 01
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Sep 01, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 02
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 02, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Sep 03
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Sep 03, 2017
2:00 PM
Tue, Sep 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2017
7:30 PM
Wed, Sep 06
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2017
7:30 PM
Thu, Sep 07
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Sep 07, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 08
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Sep 08, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 09
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Sep 10
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Sep 10, 2017
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Wed, Sep 13
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2017
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Sep 14
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Sep 14, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 15
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Sep 15, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 16
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 16, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Sep 17
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Sep 17, 2017
2:00 PM
Tue, Sep 19
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2017
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Wed, Sep 20
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2017
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Sep 21
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Sep 21, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 22
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Sep 22, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 23
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 23, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Sep 24
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Sep 24, 2017
2:00 PM
Tue, Sep 26
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2017
7:30 PM
Wed, Sep 27
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2017
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Sep 28
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Sep 28, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 29
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Sep 29, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 30
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 30, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Oct 01
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Oct 01, 2017
2:00 PM

Cast

J. Cameron Barnett

Brandon Victor Dixon

Ben Horner

Joaquina Kalukango

Marc Kudisch

Christine Lahti

Ruibo Qian

Elizabeth Stanley

Raphael Nash Thompson

Creative

Scenic Design
Rachel Hauck
Costume Design
Emilio Sosa
Lighting Design
Jeff Croiter
Sound Design
Darron L West
Projection Design
Rocco Disanti
Music Direction
Todd Almond
Choreographer
Tanya Birl
Wig & Make-up Design
J. Jared Janas
Fight Director
Thomas Schall
Production Stage Manager
Evangeline Rose Whitlock

Now At The Center