Overview

$35 tickets On Sale Now!

Legacy playwright Athol Fugard has made a home at Signature since being the inaugural Residency 1 playwright at the Center, and his South African-set stories, with themes of complex identities, racial tension, and social protest, remain as relevant as ever. In this new production of the “prophetic and brilliant" (The New York TimesBoesman and Lena, the human need for kindness, hope and compassion is on display in the struggles of abusive Boesman and his long-suffering wife Lena, who encounter a stranger while wandering the South African wastelands.

 

 

Dates
February 5 - March 17, 2019
Price
All tickets $35
Venue
The Alice Griffin Jewel Box Theatre
Residency

Please Note:

This production contains the use of haze and hypoallergenic incense.

There will be no late seating for this production.

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

February 12, 28; March 7, 14  

MORE Events

Audio Description Icon   Audio Described Performance

March 2 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Open Caption Icon  Open Caption performance

March 9 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Promo

Vera Stark OC On Sale Remove
Available
Sold Out
Tue, Feb 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Feb 06
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 07
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 07, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Feb 08
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 08, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 09
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 09, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Feb 10
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 10, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Feb 12
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Feb 13
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 14
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Feb 15
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 15, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 16
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 16, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Feb 17
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 17, 2019
2:00 PM
Wed, Feb 20
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 21
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 21, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Feb 22
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 22, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 23
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 23, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Feb 24
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 24, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Wed, Feb 27
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 28
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 28, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Mar 01
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 01, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Mar 02
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 02, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Mar 03
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 03, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Mar 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Mar 06
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Mar 06, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Mar 07
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Mar 07, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Mar 08
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 08, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Mar 09
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 09, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Mar 10
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 10, 2019
2:00 PM
Tue, Mar 12
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Mar 13
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Mar 14
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Mar 14, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Mar 15
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 15, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Mar 16
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 16, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Mar 17
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 17, 2019
2:00 PM

Cast

Zainab Jah

Sahr Ngaujah

Thomas Silcott

Creative

Scenic & Costume Design
Susan Hilferty
Lighting Design
Amith Chandrashaker
Sound Design
Matt Hubbs
Fight Direction
UnkleDave’s Fight-House
Dialect Coach
Barbara Rubin
Production Stage Manager
Cherie B. Tay

Now At The Center