Overview

Final week! Now playing through March 24 only.

Legacy playwright Athol Fugard has made a home at Signature since being the inaugural Residency 1 playwright at the Center, and his South African-set stories, with themes of complex identities, racial tension, and social protest, remain as relevant as ever. In this new production of the “prophetic and brilliant" (The New York TimesBoesman and Lena, the human need for kindness, hope and compassion is on display in the struggle of two refugees who encounter a stranger while wandering the South African wastelands.



Waitlist Tickets

On the day of a sold out performance, we will take a waiting list for full price tickets in person at the ground floor Box Office window one hour prior to showtime. Learn more.



Student Rush Tickets

Subject to availability, Student Rush tickets will be sold for $35 when the ground floor Box Office opens each day up until performance time. Limit two tickets per person. Tickets are only available in person with a valid student ID. Learn more.

"Critic’s Pick! A beautiful production! A classic of world drama."
- The New York Times

"A searing look at how institutional racism can sour our very humanity."
The Wrap  

"Three virtuosic performances and brilliant staging… a journey unquestionably worth taking."
TheaterMania
Dates
February 5 - March 24, 2019
Price
Through March 17: All tickets $35. Beginning March 19: Tickets start at $45.
Running Time
2 hours, no intermission
Venue
The Alice Griffin Jewel Box Theatre
Residency

Please Note:

This production contains the use of haze and hypoallergenic incense.

There will be no late seating for this production.

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

February 12, 28; March 7, 14  

Community Discussion logo Spotlight on yAËL (pre-show)

February 20 at 6:30pm: Join us for a pre-show, moderated discussion with director Yaël Farber.

MORE Events

Audio Description Icon   Audio Described Performance

March 2 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Open Caption Icon  Open Caption performance

March 9 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Promo

Vera Stark OC On Sale Remove
Available
Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 07, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 08, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 09, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 10, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 15, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 16, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 17, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 21, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 22, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 23, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 24, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 28, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 01, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 02, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 03, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Mar 06, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Mar 07, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 08, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 09, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 10, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Mar 14, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 15, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 16, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 17, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 22, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 23, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable
Sun, Mar 24
2:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 24, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable

Cast

Zainab Jah

Sahr Ngaujah

Thomas Silcott

Creative

Scenic & Costume Design
Susan Hilferty
Lighting Design
Amith Chandrashaker
Sound Design
Matt Hubbs
Fight Direction
UnkleDave’s Fight-House
Dialect Coach
Barbara Rubin
Production Stage Manager
Kelly A. Martindale

Now At The Center