Overview

$35 tickets are on sale now!

It’s the Golden Age of Hollywood, and aspiring starlet Vera Stark works as a maid to Gloria Mitchell, an aging star grasping at her fading career. Worlds collide when Vera lands a trailblazing role in an antebellum epic starring…her boss. While Vera’s portrayal of a slave turns out to be groundbreaking, decades later scholars and film buffs still grapple with the actress’ legacy in Hollywood and the impact that race had on her controversial career. Two-time Pulitzer Prize-winner Lynn Nottage’s fast-paced, sly satire, directed by Kamilah Forbes, will take you on a seventy-year journey through Vera’s life and the cultural climate that originally shaped her and continues today.
 

 



 The Noël Coward Foundation logo  Access to Lynn Nottage’s Residency 1 productions is generously supported, in part, by The Noël Coward Foundation.

 

Dates
January 29 - March 3, 2019
Price
All tickets $35
Venue
The Irene Diamond Stage
Residency

Please Note:

This production contains the use of herbal cigarettes.

There will be no late seating for this production.

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

February 5, 21, 26

Community Discussion logo Spotlight on Lynn & Kamilah (pre-show)

February 6 at 6:30pm: Join us for a pre-show, moderated discussion with playwright Lynn Nottage and director Kamilah Forbes.

MORE Events

Audio Description Icon   Audio Described Performance

February 23 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Open Caption Icon  Open Caption performance

March 3 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Got a Promo Code?

Available
Sold Out
Tue, Jan 29
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Jan 30
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Jan 31
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Jan 31, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Feb 01
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 01, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 02
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 02, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Feb 03
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 03, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Feb 05
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Wed, Feb 06
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Thu, Feb 07
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 07, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Feb 08
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 08, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 09
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 09, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Feb 10
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 10, 2019
2:00 PM
Tue, Feb 12
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Feb 13
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 14
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Feb 15
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 15, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 16
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 16, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Feb 17
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 17, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Wed, Feb 20
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 21
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 21, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Fri, Feb 22
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 22, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 23
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 23, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Feb 24
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 24, 2019
2:00 PM
Tue, Feb 26
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 26, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Feb 27
2:00 PM Sold Out 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 28
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 28, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Mar 01
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 01, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Mar 02
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 02, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Mar 03
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 03, 2019
2:00 PM

Cast

Jenni Barber

Jessica Frances Dukes

Manoel Felciano

Warner Miller

Carra Patterson

Heather Alicia Simms

David Turner

Creative

Costume Designer
Clint Ramos
Costume Designer
Dede Ayite
Lighting Designer
Matt Frey
Sound Designer
Mikaal Sulaiman
Projection Designer
Katherine Freer
Hair & Wig Design
Mia Neal
Composer
Daniel Kluger
Dialect Coach
Dawn-Elin Fraser
Production Stage Manager
Laura Wilson

Now At The Center