Overview

Now playing! extended through December 9

Drama Desk Award-winner Will Eno, the first writer to complete the Residency 5 program, returns to Signature for his first Legacy production with Thom Pain (based on nothing), directed by Oliver Butler (Obie and Lortel Award-winning The Open House) and starring Golden Globe Award-winner Michael C. Hall (“Dexter,” “Six Feet Under,” The Realistic Joneses). Called “a small masterpiece” by The New York Times and “one of the best monologues I’ve ever seen” by The Guardian, this surreal and very real one-man show follows Thom Pain as he desperately, and hilariously, tries to save his own life…or at least make it into something worth dying for.

"Riveting and bedeviling! Michael C. Hall is mesmerizing."
- Frank Scheck, The Hollywood Reporter
 
"A searing meditation on the meaning of life."
- Marilyn Stasio, Variety  

"Four stars! Time Out recommended!"
- Helen Shaw, Time Out New York

"A thrilling tour-de-force!"
- Thom Geier, The Wrap
 


Waitlist Tickets

On the day of a sold out performance, we will take a waiting list for full price tickets in person at the ground floor Box Office window one hour prior to showtime. Learn more.

Student Rush Tickets

Subject to availability, Student Rush tickets will be sold for $35 when the ground floor Box Office opens each day up until performance time. Limit two tickets per person. Tickets are only available in person with a valid student ID. Learn more.

Subscribe today to guarantee $35 tickets to the entire season!

Dates
October 23 - December 9, 2018
Price
Tickets start at $35
Running Time
70 minutes, no intermission
Venue
The Irene Diamond Stage
Residency

Please Note

There will be no late seating. This production contains the use of haze.

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

October 30; November 15, 20 

Page-to-Stage_Icon_Signature-01.png  Spotlight on Design (Post-Show)

November 1: Get an inside look at the mechanics behind the magic in this post-show discussion with one of the production's designers.

Community Discussion logo Spotlight on Will Eno & Oliver Butler (pre-show)

November 7 at 6:30pm: Join us for a pre-show, moderated discussion with playwright Will Eno and director Oliver Butler.

MORE Events

Audio Description Icon   Audio Described Performance

November 17 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Open Caption Icon  Open Caption performance

November 18 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Got a Promo Code?

Available
Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Oct 25, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Oct 26, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Oct 27, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Oct 28, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 01, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 02, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 03, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 04, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 08, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 09, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 10, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 11, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 15, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 16, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 17, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable
Sun, Nov 18
2:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 18, 2018
2:00 PM- Unavailable
Mon, Nov 19
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Monday, Nov 19, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Tue, Nov 20
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Wed, Nov 21
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2018
2:00 PM
Fri, Nov 23
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 23, 2018
7:30 PM
Sat, Nov 24
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 24, 2018
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Nov 25
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 25, 2018
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Nov 27
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2018
7:30 PM
Wed, Nov 28
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2018
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Nov 29
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 29, 2018
7:30 PM
Fri, Nov 30
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 30, 2018
7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 01
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Dec 01, 2018
2:00 PM
Sun, Dec 02
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 02, 2018
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Fri, Dec 07
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Dec 07, 2018
7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 08
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Dec 08, 2018
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Dec 09
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018
2:00 PM 7:30 PM

Cast

Michael C. Hall

Creative

Scenic Design
Amy Rubin
Costume Design
Anita Yavich
Lighting Design
Jen Schriever
Sound Design
Lee Kinney
Production Stage Manager
Charles M. Turner III

Now At The Center