Edward Albee

Edward Albee

1993-94 Residency 1 Playwright

Edward Albee was born on March 12, 1928, and began writing plays 30 years later. His plays include The Zoo Story (1958); The Death of Bessie Smith (1959); The Sandbox (1959); The American Dream (1960); Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1961-62, Tony Award, 2012-2013 Tony Award); Tiny Alice (1964); A Delicate Balance (1966, Pulitzer Prize, 1966 Tony Award); All Over (1971); Seascape (1974, Pulitzer Prize); Listening (1975); Counting the Ways (1975); The Lady From Dubuque (1977-78); The Man Who Had Three Arms (1981); Finding the Sun (1982); Marriage Play (1986-87); Three Tall Women (1991, Pulitzer Prize); Fragments (1993); The Play About the Baby (1997); The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia? (2000, 2002 Tony Award); Occupant (2001); and At Home at the Zoo: (Act 1, Homelife; Act 2, The Zoo Story.) (2004); Me, Myself and I (2010). He was a member of the Dramatists Guild Council and president of the Edward F. Albee Foundation. Mr. Albee was awarded the Gold Medal in Drama from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters in 1980. In 1996, he received the Kennedy Center Honors and the National Medal of Arts. In 2005 he was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Tony Award. Albee passed away September 16, 2016.


Board Chairman Edward Norton on working with Edward Albee

past productions

Edward Albee's The Lady from Dubuque
Edward Albee's At Home at the Zoo: Homelife & The Zoo Story
Edward Albee's Occupant
Edward Albee's Marriage Play
Edward Albee's Counting the Ways
and Listening
Sand: Box, Edward Albee's The Sandbox and Edward Albee's Finding the Sun
Edward Albee's Fragments


Edward Albee photo by Gregory Costanzo.

Now At The Center