Overview

$30 Tickets on sale now!

In the Blood’s Hester La Negrita is a penniless mother of five condemned by the men who love her, in this play hailed by The New York Times as "…a work of art." You will leave thrilled, even comforted by its mastery.” Hester turns to former lovers, friends, and the institutions meant to support her, only to be spurned by them all with devastating consequences, in this new production directed by Obie Award-winner Sarah Benson (An Octoroon).  

This play is being produced in tandem with Suzan-Lori Parks' Fucking A, directed by Jo Bonney, as part of the event we are calling The Red Letter Plays, a unique opportunity to see two plays by one writer in dialogue with each other. To find out more about why we are presenting these two riffs on Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter together, click here

Dates
August 29 - October 8, 2017
Price
All tickets $30
Running Time
Approximately 2 hours
Residency

frequently asked questions

Click here to learn more about The Red Letter Plays.

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Sponsored by American Express
 
Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

September 7, 21, 28; October 5
Chat after the show with the cast and creative team about their process creating the production.

BackstagePass_Icon_Signature-01.png  Backstage Pass (Pre-Show)

September 6
Get an inside look at the mechanics behind the magic in this pre-show discussion with The Red Letter Plays costume designers Rachel Hauck and Lousia Thompson.

Page-to-Stage_Icon_Signature-01.png  Page to Stage (Pre-Show)

September 27 at 6:00pm
Hear the full story on how playwright Suzan-Lori Parks and director Sarah Benson transformed an idea into a play through a moderated discussion with members of the Artistic Team.  

MORE Events

Champagne_Signature_Icon-01.png   Audio Described Performance

September 23 at 2:00pm
Buy Tickets

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Got a Promo Code?

Available
Sold Out
Tue, Aug 29
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2017
7:30 PM
Wed, Aug 30
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2017
7:30 PM
Thu, Aug 31
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Aug 31, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 01
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Sep 01, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 02
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 02, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Sep 03
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Sep 03, 2017
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Sep 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2017
7:30 PM
Wed, Sep 06
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2017
7:30 PM
Thu, Sep 07
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Sep 07, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 08
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Sep 08, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 09
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 09, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Sep 10
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Sep 10, 2017
2:00 PM
Tue, Sep 12
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2017
7:30 PM
Wed, Sep 13
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2017
7:30 PM
Thu, Sep 14
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Sep 14, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 15
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Sep 15, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 16
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 16, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Sep 17
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Sep 17, 2017
2:00 PM
Tue, Sep 19
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2017
7:30 PM
Wed, Sep 20
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2017
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Sep 21
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Sep 21, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 23
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 23, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Sep 24
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Sep 24, 2017
2:00 PM
Tue, Sep 26
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2017
7:30 PM
Wed, Sep 27
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2017
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Sep 28
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Sep 28, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 29
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Sep 29, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 30
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Sep 30, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Oct 01
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Oct 01, 2017
2:00 PM
Tue, Oct 03
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2017
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Wed, Oct 04
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2017
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Oct 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Oct 05, 2017
7:30 PM
Fri, Oct 06
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Oct 06, 2017
7:30 PM
Sat, Oct 07
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Oct 07, 2017
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Oct 08
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Oct 08, 2017
2:00 PM

Cast

Jocelyn Bioh

Michael Braun

Russell G. Jones

Ana Reeder

Saycon Sengbloh

Frank Wood

Creative

Scenic Design
Louisa Thompson
Costume Design
Montana Levi Blanco
Lighting Design
Yi Zhao
Sound Design
Matt Tierney
Fight Director
J. David Brimmer
Wig Design
Cookie Jordan
Choreographer
Annie-B Parson
Movement
Elizabeth Streb/ Streb Extreme Action
Production Stage Manager
Terri K. Kohler

Now At The Center