Overview

NOW PLAYING!

There are three sides to every story: yours, mine and the truth. Following the deaths of a Black American boy and a young Orthodox Jewish scholar in the summer of 1991, underlying racial tensions in the nestled community of Crown Heights, Brooklyn erupted into civil outbreak. Fires in the Mirror was Anna Deavere Smith’s groundbreaking response. Birthed from a series of interviews with over fifty members of the Jewish and Black communities, the Drama Desk award-winning work translated their voices verbatim, and in the process revolutionized the genre of documentary theatre. As much provocation as it is exploration, this landmark play launches Anna Deavere Smith’s Residency 1 at Signature. 

Signature is excited to work with Anna Deavere Smith to reimagine this play for new performers and collaborators.

Please note, this production contains the use of herbal cigarettes.

Dates
October 22 - December 15, 2019
Price
Tickets starting at $35
Running Time
1 hour 50 minutes, no intermission
Venue
The Romulus Linney Courtyard Theatre
Residency

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

Oct. 29, Nov. 5, Nov. 14

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Spotlight on Anna Deavere Smith and Saheem Ali

Wednesday, October 30 at 6:30pm

accessible performances

Audio Description Icon   Audio Described Performance

November 17 at 2:00pm

Open Caption Icon  Open Caption performance

November 16 at 2:00pm

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Got a Promo Code?

Available
Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Oct 22, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Oct 23, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Oct 24, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Oct 25, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Oct 26, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Oct 27, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Oct 29, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Oct 30, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Oct 31, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 01, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 02, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 03, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 05, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 07, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 09, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 10, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 13, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 15, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 16, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable
Sun, Nov 17

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable
Tue, Nov 19
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Wed, Nov 20
2:00 PM Sold Out 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM
Fri, Nov 22
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 22, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Sat, Nov 23
2:00 PM Sold Out 8:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 23, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable
Sun, Nov 24
2:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 24, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable
Tue, Nov 26
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Wed, Nov 27
2:00 PM Sold Out 7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable
Fri, Nov 29
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 29, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Sat, Nov 30
2:00 PM Sold Out 8:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 30, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable
Sun, Dec 01
2:00 PM Sold Out 7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 01, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable
Tue, Dec 03
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Wed, Dec 04
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Wednesday, Dec 04, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Thu, Dec 05
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Thursday, Dec 05, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Fri, Dec 06
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Dec 06, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 07
2:00 PM Sold Out 8:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Saturday, Dec 07, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable
Sun, Dec 08
2:00 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 08, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable
Tue, Dec 10
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Dec 11
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Dec 11, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Dec 12
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Dec 12, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Dec 13
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Dec 13, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 14
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Dec 14, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Dec 15
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 15, 2019
2:00 PM

Cast

Michael Benjamin Washington

Creative

Scenic Design
Arnulfo Maldonado
Costume Design
Dede M. Ayite
Lighting Design
Alan C. Edwards
Sound Design
Mikaal Sulaiman
Projection Designer
Hannah Wasileski
Dialect Coach
Dawn-Elin Fraser
Production Stage Manager
Alfredo Macias

Now At The Center