Overview

World Premiere

Subscribe to the 2019-20 Season today to guarantee $35 tickets!
 

Ready, set, fry! It’s time for the annual "Hot Wang Festival" in Memphis, Tennessee, and Cordell Crutchfield knows he has the wings that’ll make him king. Supported by his beau Dwayne and their culinary clique, The New Wing Order, Cordell is marinating and firing up his frying pan in a bid to reclaim the crispy crown. When Dwayne takes in his troubled nephew however, it becomes a recipe for disaster. Suddenly, a first place trophy isn’t the only thing Cordell risks losing. Steve H. Broadnax III will direct this sizzling world premiere comedy from Residency 5 playwright Katori Hall (Hurt Village, Our Lady of Kibeho).



The Hot Wing King is the recipient of The Edgerton Foundation Award for New Plays.

Katori Hall’s Residency 5 is generously supported by the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation.

Special thanks to The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust and The Michael and Betty Rauch Fund for Residency 5 for their generous support of the Residency 5 program.

 

 The Noël Coward Foundation logo  Access to The Hot Wing King is generously supported, in part, by The Noël Coward Foundation.

Dates
February 11 - March 22, 2020
Price
Tickets starting at $35
Venue
The Alice Griffin Jewel Box Theatre
Residency

Performance Extras

Blackout Night

On Friday, March 20 at 6:30pm, Signature Theatre will host a Blackout Night dedicated to Black and African American audience members to celebrate the world premiere of The Hot Wing KingTo access tickets, use the code KINGS.
 

SIGNATURE SPOTLIGHT SERIES

SPOTLIGHT ON Katori Hall and Steve H. Broadnax III

February 19 at 6:30pm: RSVP

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  TALKBACKS (POST-SHOW)

February 18, February 25, March 3, March 17
 

ACCESSIBLE PERFORMANCES

Audio Description Icon   AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCE

March 7 at 2:00pm

Open Caption Icon  OPEN CAPTION PERFORMANCE

March 8 at 2:00pm

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Got a Promo Code?

Available
Sold Out
Tue, Feb 11
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 11, 2020
7:30 PM
Wed, Feb 12
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2020
7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 13
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 13, 2020
7:30 PM
Fri, Feb 14
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 14, 2020
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 15
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 15, 2020
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Feb 16
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 16, 2020
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Feb 18
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2020
7:30 PM
Wed, Feb 19
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 19, 2020
7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 20
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 20, 2020
7:30 PM
Fri, Feb 21
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 21, 2020
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 22
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 22, 2020
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Feb 23
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Feb 23, 2020
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Feb 25
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Feb 25, 2020
7:30 PM
Wed, Feb 26
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Feb 26, 2020
7:30 PM
Thu, Feb 27
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Feb 27, 2020
7:30 PM
Fri, Feb 28
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Feb 28, 2020
7:30 PM
Sat, Feb 29
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Feb 29, 2020
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Mar 01
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 01, 2020
2:00 PM
Tue, Mar 03
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2020
7:30 PM
Wed, Mar 04
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2020
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Mar 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Mar 05, 2020
7:30 PM
Fri, Mar 06
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 06, 2020
7:30 PM
Sat, Mar 07
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 07, 2020
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Mar 08
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 08, 2020
2:00 PM
Tue, Mar 10
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2020
7:30 PM
Wed, Mar 11
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020
7:30 PM
Thu, Mar 12
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020
7:30 PM
Fri, Mar 13
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 13, 2020
7:30 PM
Sat, Mar 14
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 14, 2020
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Mar 15
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020
2:00 PM
Tue, Mar 17
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020
7:30 PM
Wed, Mar 18
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Mar 19
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Mar 19, 2020
7:30 PM
Fri, Mar 20
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Friday, Mar 20, 2020
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Sat, Mar 21
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Mar 21, 2020
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Mar 22
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020
2:00 PM

Cast

Nicco Annan

Sheldon Best

Cecil Blutcher

Korey Jackson

Toussaint Jeanlouis

Eric B. Robinson Jr.

Creative

Scenic Designer
Michael Carnahan
Costume Designer
Emilio Sosa
Lighting Designer
Alan C. Edwards
Sound Designers
Luqman Brown and Robert Kaplowitz
Production Stage Manager
Laura Smith
Casting
Caparelliotis Casting

Now At The Center