Overview

Coming in the 2019-20 Season 

Subscribe today to guarantee $35 tickets!


Danger waits just underneath the surface in Horton Foote’s powerful, Pulitzer Prize-winning drama of an aging couple still reeling from the death of their only child. Set against the backdrop of a rapidly modernizing 1950s Houston, the Kidders' lives are turned upside down once again when a figure from their son’s past shows up in town. They deny, deflect and deceive in an effort to avoid the danger but can’t dodge the inevitable reckoning. How far will these grieving parents go to avoid the truths this young man from Atlanta might reveal? Director Michael Wilson (The Orphans’ Home CycleThe Old Friends), the premier interpreter of Foote’s work, returns to Signature to spearhead this beautiful, heartbreaking play that explores and dissects the American dream while revealing the depths we go to in order to keep ourselves safe.


 
Dates
November 5 - December 8, 2019
Venue
The Irene Diamond Stage
Residency

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

Nov. 12, Nov. 19, Nov. 26, Dec. 3

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Spotlight on Hallie Foote and Michael Wilson (pre-show)

RSVP: Wednesday, November 13 at 6:30pm

accessible performances

Audio Description Icon   Audio Described Performance

December 7 at 2:00pm

Open Caption Icon  Open Caption performance

December 8 at 2:00pm

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Got a Promo Code?

Available
Sold Out
Tue, Nov 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 05, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Nov 06
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Nov 07
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 07, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Nov 08
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 08, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Nov 09
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 09, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Nov 10
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 10, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Nov 12
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 12, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Nov 13
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 13, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Nov 14
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Nov 15
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 15, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Nov 16
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 16, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Nov 17
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Nov 19
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Nov 20
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Nov 21
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 21, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Nov 22
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 22, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Nov 23
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 23, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Nov 24
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 24, 2019
2:00 PM
Tue, Nov 26
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Nov 27
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Fri, Nov 29
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 29, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Nov 30
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 30, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Dec 01
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 01, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Dec 03
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Dec 04
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Dec 04, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Dec 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Dec 05, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Dec 06
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Dec 06, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 07
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Dec 07, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Dec 08
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 08, 2019
2:00 PM

Cast

Devon Abner

Dan Bittner

Pat Bowie

Harriett D. Foy

Kristine Nielsen

Jon Orsini

Larry Pine

Aidan Quinn

Creative

Lighting Design
David Lander
Scenic Design
Jeff Cowie
Sound Design & Original Music
John Gromada
Production Stage Manager
Robert Bennett
Costume Design
Van Broughton Ramsey

Now At The Center