Overview

NOW PLAYING! 

Danger waits just underneath the surface in Horton Foote’s powerful, Pulitzer Prize-winning drama of an aging couple still reeling from the death of their only child. Set against the backdrop of a rapidly modernizing 1950s Houston, the Kidders' lives are turned upside down once again when a figure from their son’s past shows up in town. They deny, deflect and deceive in an effort to avoid the danger but can’t dodge the inevitable reckoning. How far will these grieving parents go to avoid the truths this young man from Atlanta might reveal? Director Michael Wilson (The Orphans’ Home CycleThe Old Friends), the premier interpreter of Foote’s work, returns to Signature to bring to life this beautiful, heartbreaking play that explores and dissects the American dream while revealing the depths we go to in order to keep ourselves safe.



The Young Man from Atlanta is generously sponsored by The Blanche and Irving Laurie Foundation.
The Young Man from Atlanta is generously supported by the Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater.
Dates
November 7, 2019 - December 15, 2019
Running Time
2 hours 10 minutes, one intermission
Venue
The Irene Diamond Stage
Residency

Performance Extras

Signature Spotlight Series

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Talkbacks (post-show)

Nov. 12, Nov. 19, Nov. 26, Dec. 3

Talkback_Icon_Signature-01.png  Spotlight on Hallie Foote and Michael Wilson (pre-show)

RSVP: Wednesday, November 13 at 6:30pm

accessible performances

Audio Description Icon   Audio Described Performance

December 7 at 2:00pm

Open Caption Icon  Open Caption performance

December 8 at 2:00pm

Buy Tickets

Book subscriber seats

SELECT A DATE

Got a Promo Code?

Available
Sold Out

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 07, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 08, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 09, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 10, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 12, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 13, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 15, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 16, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM- Unavailable
Sun, Nov 17

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 7:30 PM- Unavailable
Tue, Nov 19
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Nov 20
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2019
7:30 PM
Thu, Nov 21
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Nov 21, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Nov 22
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 22, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Nov 23
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 23, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Nov 24
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Nov 24, 2019
2:00 PM
Tue, Nov 26
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Nov 27
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Fri, Nov 29
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Nov 29, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Nov 30
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Nov 30, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Dec 01
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 01, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Tue, Dec 03
7:30 PM Sold Out

Select a Time

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2019
7:30 PM- Unavailable
Wed, Dec 04
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Dec 04, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Dec 05
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Dec 05, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Dec 06
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Dec 06, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 07
2:00 PM Sold Out 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Dec 07, 2019
2:00 PM- Unavailable 8:00 PM
Sun, Dec 08
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 08, 2019
2:00 PM
Tue, Dec 10
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019
7:30 PM
Wed, Dec 11
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Wednesday, Dec 11, 2019
2:00 PM 7:30 PM
Thu, Dec 12
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Thursday, Dec 12, 2019
7:30 PM
Fri, Dec 13
7:30 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Friday, Dec 13, 2019
7:30 PM
Sat, Dec 14
2:00 PM Buy Tickets 8:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Saturday, Dec 14, 2019
2:00 PM 8:00 PM
Sun, Dec 15
2:00 PM Buy Tickets

Select a Time

Sunday, Dec 15, 2019
2:00 PM

Cast

Devon Abner

Dan Bittner

Pat Bowie

Harriett D. Foy

Kristine Nielsen

Jon Orsini

Stephen Payne

Aidan Quinn

Creative

Scenic Design
Jeff Cowie
Costume Design
Van Broughton Ramsey
Lighting Design
David Lander
Sound Design & Original Music
John Gromada
Dialect Coach
Shane Ann Younts
Production Stage Manager
Robert Bennett

Now At The Center